Ref: CDG1232


Volume 2 of David Hill's Noël! series is an exciting new collection of Advent, Christmas and Epiphany music for mixed voice choirs, edited by David Hill and published by Novello Music. This album is a varied selection of beautiful carols which captures the essence of the collection in a fine new recording by the stunning choir Ikon.

1 O come, O come, Emmanuel trad. arr. David Hill
2 Coventry Carol trad. arr. Richard Allain
3 I wonder as I wander John Jacob Niles arr. Kevin Grafton
4 Torches John Joubert
5 Away in a manger William J. Kirkpatrick arr. David Hill
6 Lullay my liking Gustav Holst
7 In dulci jubilo Robert Pearsall
8 Angelus ad Virginem trad. arr. Barry Rose
9 Silent night Franz Gruber arr. David Hill
10 Resonet in laudibus Michael Praetorius ed. David Hiley
11 The Christ-child lay Kenneth Leighton
12 Bethlehem Down Peter Warlock arr. David Hill
13 Long, long ago Herbert Howells
14 Venite, Gaudete! Adrian Peacock
15 Lux Aurumque Eric Whitacre
16 Rocking John Tavener
17 Adam lay y-bounden Matthew Martin
18 Ding dong! merrily on high trad. arr. Stuart Nicholson
19 O come, all ye faithful J. F. Wade arr. David Hill

Ikon directed by David Hill
David Dunnett, organ

Cover image: Nativity, 1920 Eric Gill (1882-1940)Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museums/The Bridgeman Art Library
P & C 2009 Classical Communications Ltd
Made in Great Britain

Ikon directed by David Hill

Soprano Zoe Brown, Alison Hill (6*), Katy Hill,
Emilia Hughes, Lucy Page
Alto David Allsopp, Heather Cairncross,
David Clegg, Ruth Gibbins
Tenor Jeremy Budd, Benedict Hymas (9*),
Matthew Long, Graham Neal
Bass Gabriel Crouch, Tim Dickinson,
William Gaunt, Jimmy Holliday,

* indicates soloists

Noël! 2 is an exciting collection of Advent, Christmas and Epiphany music for mixed voice choirs, which follows on from the highly acclaimed Noël! 1. Both volumes are published by Novello.

This album explores a rather wonderful English tradition, in which in cathedrals and churches throughout the land, traditional carols (both words and music) are given a new lease of life through new arrangements by living and working church musicians, who will often compose new settings of these wonderful pieces with a specific choir or building in mind. In addition, these traditional melodies present a springboard for new creative work, and thus this centuries-old choral tradition goes forward with renewed vigour. So the contents of this album range from medieval works such as O come, o come, Emmanuel and the Coventry Carol presented in new and inspiring arrangements, to new works using ancient texts such as Whitacre's Lux Aurumque or Matthew Martin's Adam lay y-bounden.