0844 248 90600844 248 9060

The Gift of Music, Keswick House, Branthwaite Road, Workington, Cumbria, CA14 4ED, United Kingdom.

My Basket

Items:  items

Classical Harp

Classical Harp

You may also like..

Great Organ Classics
Fantasias & Variations

Ref: CDG1048

17 tracks 60 min
Click here to preview trk 11

Gentle, classical tunes played by that most seductive of instruments, the concert harp. Superb new arrangements of masterworks of the past include Pachelbel's 'Canon', Massenet's 'Meditation', Bach's 'Jesu, joy of man's desiring' and music by Satie, Boccherini and others to uplift and inspire.

Price    9.99

More Information

Classical Harp

Great classical tunes played by that most seductive of instruments, the beautiful concert harp. A programme designed to uplift and inspire, as the sonorous tones of this superb instrument sound out. Recorded in a generous acoustic, this album is very atmospheric, full of rich sounds and virtuoso playing. The programme is a careful blend of famous tunes and original music for the harp which demonstrate its full potential..

1 Meditation from Thaïs Jules Massenet (1842-1912)
2 Barcarolle Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880)
3 Bois Solitaire 'Romance sans paroles' Felix Godefroid (1818-1897)
4 Chaconne Jeremiah Clarke (c1674-1707)
5 Softly awakes my heart Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
6 Gnossienne No.1 Erik Satie (1866-1925)
7 Gnossienne No.2 Erik Satie
8 Gnossienne No.3 Erik Satie
9 Bugeilio'r Gwenith Gwyn John Thomas (1826-1913)
10 Jesu, joy of man's desiring Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
11 Minuet in A Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805)
12 Rêverie Alphonse Hasselmans (1845-1912)
13 Rouet Alphonse Hasselmans
14 Ronde de nuit Alphonse Hasselmans
15 Canon Johann Pachelbel (1653-1706)
16 Romance 'Jeux interdits' Anonymous
17 Chaconne George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)

Sarah Hill

Image: La Ghirlandata Dante Gabrel Rosetti (1828-82) Guildhall art Gallery, Corporation of London/Bridgeman Art Library
P & C 2003 Classical Communications Ltd
Made in Great Britain

Inside book

Classical Harp

From Massenet's timeless meditation to Pachelbel's 'Canon', this programme brings together a varied selection of music, unified by being played on a single instrument, the concert harp played by Sarah Hill. Many of the tunes are famous, such as Boccherini's 'Minuet in A', which featured in the classic British film 'The Ladykillers', but we have also included some original music for the harp, most of which dates from the nineteenth century, when the instrument developed technically from the small, Renaissance or Baroque harp into a substantial and sophisticated musical instrument which took its place as a significant solo instrument for the drawing room or concert hall. It was loved by royalty and people alike. John Thomas was harpist to Queen Victoria and he arranged many Welsh folk songs for the harp, including the beautiful version of 'Bugeilio'r Gwenith Gwyn' ('Watching the wheat'), which can be heard in this album. Alphonse Hasselmans was one of the greatest composers for the harp, and it is suprising, therefore, that so little of his music has been recorded. The three pieces here were published as a set. Erik Satie's music is more well-known, and the 'Gnossiennes' are some of his finest, if slightly eccentric pieces. Originally written for piano, they transcribe very well to the harp.

The album also includes as selection of favourite Baroque music, from Clarke's 'Chaconne' to Bach's 'Jesu, joy of man's desiring'. Handel's magnificent 'Chaconne' concludes the album in fine style, the variety of musical textures and melodies providing plenty of opportunity to the harpist Sarah Hill to demonstrate both the range of the instrument and her own remarkable talent.

Recently Viewed